SO YOU WANT TO ‘ HIT THE ROAD ‘………..

Home Sweet Home

Everyone thinks about chucking it all and ‘Hitting the Road’, at some point in their lives. Pipe dreams????Ā  For most …..Probably…..more like a daydream. Certainly not for everyone.

We all have different, very personal reasons for ‘Hitting the Road’. Some of us do it part-time and some of us take a leap of faith…..usually shocking friends and family and aim for 24/7….living in a mobile , small space.

At the ripe age of 60, I looked around and wondered what happened to my life. Where is the paid for cottage in the country…..loving life mate…..money in the bank to enjoy retirement. I certainly thought all that was a GIVEN……

I could see the writing on the wall, and decided to start trying to Live Life, instead of Living to Work. I didn’t have the guts to do it all at once, but started downsizing to see if I could live in a very small space. At the time of this post…..I have researched all aspects of living on the road, as a nomad…24/7. I think I have my ducks in a row.

Something I really hate….is people thinking living in a vehicle is being homeless. It is simply your choice of abode……it’s a lifestyle. Ok if you’re rich and own a house in addition….somehow NOT OK if all you own is your 4 wheels……something is quite wrong with that philosophy.

After careful deliberation, I opted to make my new ‘Home Sweet Home’, a Mini Van. Not much room to lounge or stretch out….no indoor plumbing. It is my choice, as it’s what I am comfortable in driving and handling, as well as better gas efficiency. Very Stealthy. I am OK with not having it be a mini rendition of a brick and stick home.

My plan is to use it as a comfortable place to sleep, store my clothes, food, and actually live life outside of the vehicle. That is the point. Go…see…do….enjoy. I embrace the KISS system of life, and simplicity. Most certainly not for everyone.

Those of you thinking about doing similar….I just hope you think about all aspects, and partake after figuring out what is right …For you.

4 comments
  1. Brenda said:

    Hey Sis… Not that it matters.. but, I want you to know that I am finally good with your new mobile lifestyle šŸ™‚ I can see you are going into it with your eyes wide open. I look forward to hearing about your life adventure daily through this blog šŸ™‚
    I wish for you Safety.. Health and Happiness!… On that safey note… It wouldn’t hurt to have a can of mace close by.. and remember how your keys can be used as a weapon(good to be ready when walking back to your..umm home)… On the health note.. Ya might wanna have a water filter pitcher for your drinking water.. About the happiness.. maybe you should head up to see family in the NE first while you and the van are all fresh…think about it.. if you’re takin a life plunge ya might as well really take a plunge.. I haven’t seen you since 2006 and your girls even longer… take your time smellin the flowers on the way here and visit a week or two and then you will be fresh to head further NE for a visit…

    • Good advice Sis! I have thought about all that and while I’d love to do that…[trip up North], unless the Elec. fairy grants me a free in house charging system, I will have to put that northern trip off till next spring. By then, I will know how to live in it, and have had time to be certain it is long trip worthy and fully outfitted. Engine/air/tranny seem fine, but I want to get alignment/brakes/tires checked out before a lot of highway driving, and not close to my ‘safe houses’.
      I also own an umbrella with a big pointy end on it [weapon, cane, multi purpose]….I already own a water filter drink bottle, so am set there. Will have to put together a good SHTF pack with all the little emergency/camping essentials. It’ll be a lot more ‘FUN’ and seem effortless, if all the little i’s are dotted and t’s crossed on safety.
      I figure only a couple months to accomplish all this, but by then it will be getting cold up there. By next spring, Corrina will be well settled in her new house.

  2. Wolf said:

    Proud of you Joy ! I am also ok with living out of my 2004 Toyota Corolla Mini RV …….. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

