VAN CURTAINS…THE FINAL CHAPTER

Who’d thunk some simple curtains would evolve into such a tedious project. I listened to so many folks say reflective material was the way to go, and while it makes sense , that stuff is just not my style, Beauty….cuteness and functionality, as well as not make me crazy with being tedious to use every day.

I’m rolling with the weather, so not all that concerned about insulating. Being able to go drive to the grocery store on a moments notice as well as be stealth at night are what is important to this mostly urban dweller.

Right now I have everything strung up with nylon cord, but may switch to heavy duty fishing line for the invisible factor. I did use the fishing line on the tailgate curtains and the behind the front seat curtains. When using the fishing line, it has no stretch , so I found double backing and fastening the behind the seat curtain with a pin to the material works just fine for now. Will finese it as time goes on.

I got two black twin flat sheets at wal mart for around $4 each. Now, in retrospect….light blocker curtain panels would have been better, but expenses are very tight this month, and I had access to a sewing machine, so I went with the sheets. I had to double the material, as it was thinner than I liked. I had a good hunk of fancy velour type black material that made the rear and behind the seat curtains.

The twin sheets made 2 36″ panels and one smaller, which got used in the small space right behind the seats. I crocheted hot pink tie backs, which I am finding little places built in to hook them on. It’s important to me to keep my windows uncluttered for driving. I tried for a week to leave the hot pink poster board up on the sliding doors, but they create too many blind spots for backing up in parking lots. So they will stay stashed under the rug, unless I am camped and crave PINK…..lol.

I sewed the curtains with a 2″ head ruffle, so that part would help cover any gaps, from the cord being limp. It’s also ….purdy!

I am happy with the results and all I have to do is pull them out of the tie backs, and I am set for the night. Maybe two min. set up time, doing that, and plugging in the fan to settle down for the evening.

Side window view.

Sliding door view.

3 comments
  1. MJ said:

    Cute! I like the hot pink ties!

  2. Brenda said:

    Cute curtains.. Sis! Looks like you have it all figured out now ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Laura said:

    They look very nice. The hot pink ties look great in contrast to the black… and the black will not show dirt very easy. So smart to use the sheets, as now you can wash them & dry super quick whenever you like. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

